To manage your location sharing in the app:
- Tap on Settings in the upper left corner.
- Tap on Location Sharing.
- To share your location, tap on the toggle to turn it on.
- To stop sharing your location, tap on the toggle to turn it off.
Location Sharing Off
When you turn off Location Sharing, other members of your Circle will see "Location Sharing Paused" under your name. This only affects the Circle you turned it off in. If you are in multiple Circles, repeat the steps above in each Circle you're in.
Your location can still be shared in a few cases, even while Location Sharing is off:
- Tapping Check In shares a nearby location or one you choose to name.
- Sending an SOS alert will share your location in every Circle you're in.
- For paid members in the US, Canada, the UK, Australia, and New Zealand, your location will also be shared with our 24/7 Emergency Dispatch Center.
- If you have Crash Detection enabled and a collision is detected, it will share your location with your Circle and emergency contacts.
- For paid members in the US, Canada, the UK, Australia, and New Zealand, and Gold members in Austria, Belgium, France, Ireland, Italy, and Germany, your location will also be shared with emergency services.
Turning off Location Sharing stops future updates, but it doesn't delete the location history Life360 has already collected. If you join a new Circle later, members of that Circle may be able to see that history. Learn more in Drive and Location History.